A multi-disciplinary, informal and free-flowing research environment

CESR Seminar Series

Co-Sponsored by USC Population Research Center *


For more information on the seminars presentations, or if you would like to attend the presentation or to meet with any of the speakers, please contact Titus Galama (galama@usc.edu) or Leandro Carvalho (lcarvalh@usc.edu).

To view past Seminar schedules, please click on the links below:
2013
2014

Spring Calendar

Date and time
(PST)

Speaker

Title of Talk

Room

Monday 1/12/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Ariel Kalil
University of Chicago

The Role of Parenting in the Diverging Destinies of Rich and Poor Children*
Paper 1
Paper 2

VPD LL101A

Thursday 1/15/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Kevin P. Weinfurt
Duke University

Some Challenges for Interpreting Self-Reported Measurements in Bioethics Research*

VPD LL101A

Tuesday 1/20/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Kathleen Mullen
RAND

Disability Insurance and the Great Recession*

VPD LL101A

Monday 1/26/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Kevin Thom
New York University

Smoking, Genes, and Health

VPD LL101A

Monday 2/09/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Rodrigo Pinto
University of Chicago

Selection Bias in a Controlled Experiment: The Case of Moving to Opportunity*

VPD LL101A

Tuesday 2/10/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Valentina Duque
Columbia Population Research Center

Early-Life Conditions, Parental Investments, and Child Development: Evidence from a Violent Conflict*

VPD LL101A

Friday 2/13/15
12.00pm - 1.30pm

Matthew D. Shapiro
University of Michigan

Consumer Responses to a Temporary Drop in Income: Evidence from the 2013 Government Shutdown Using Account Data

VPD LL101A

Monday 2/23/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Dean Lillard
The Ohio State University

A New Measure of the Stock and Flow of Information and How it Affects Economic Behavior

VPD LL101A

Monday 3/02/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Adriana Lleras-Muney
UCLA

Party on: The Returns to Social Skills in the Labor Market

VPD LL101A

Monday 3/16/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Ian Walker
Princeton University and Lancaster University Management School

Rational Addiction in Lotto Play

VPD LL101A

Monday 3/23/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Duncan Thomas
Duke University

Child Health After a Disaster

VPD LL101A

Monday 4/06/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Sheila Murphy
Annenberg School, USC

Telling stories, saving lives: Comparing the Relative Efficacy of Narrative Versus Non-narrative Health Messages in Reducing Health Disparities Using a Randomized Trial

VPD LL101A

Monday 4/20/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

James P. Smith
RAND

TBD

VPD LL101A

Monday 5/04/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

Gautam Gowrisankaran
University of Arizona

Myopia and Complex Dynamic Incentives: Evidence from Medicare Part D

VPD LL101A

Monday 5/18/15
2.00pm - 3.30pm

M. Keith Chen
UCLA Anderson School of Management

TBD

VPD 101A

    • facebook
    • twitter
    • YouTube